Braided Garlic

A beautiful and practical accessory for any kitchen is a braided rope of softneck garlic. The softneck garlic is more domesticated and has evolved from the hardneck garlic, which is a bit more fussy to grow. Because the softneck garlic has lost its ability to produce topsets, the center is now softer and braiding much easier. If you are choosing between softneck or hardneck (rocambole/topsetting), keep in mind that softnecks are more productive, store more readily, and are easier to grow.

DSCF8328.JPG

I’m not sure if there is anything I love more than the smell of garlic in the kitchen, other than oregano or basil!!  All summer long the aromas of fresh basil, garlic, and oregano are prevalent in the kitchen. This garlic braid (literally translated– Aglio treccia) was loaded with garlic when first hung, but has quickly lost another bulb with each passing week.

DSCF8338.JPG

Although I’m not Italian, I spent almost six years living in Italy during three different occasions. My “Patricia’s Kitchen” sign hangs under the cupboards near the oven and often prompts us to begin speaking Italian as we prepare our daily meals (smiles).

DSCF8332

My kitchen ceramic garlic and red onion

Braiding onions and garlic isn’t as much for decoration as it is for storage space and the ability to allow them both to dry and not become moldy. Our region/USDA zone allows us to keep many types of onions and most garlic in the ground until needed. However,  I am still learning SO much and I might find that I like them harvested and braided instead.

One thing that I’d like to attempt making after this summer/fall harvest of peppers, is a Rista—-a braid of dried chili peppers. I think they are as beautiful as they are practical. I am beginning to feel sorry for many of my friends–I think they will be receiving braids of various veggies this year in Christmas baskets!  (smiles)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment