Don’t send a Chevy to do a Ford’s Job!

If you had told me 20 years ago that I would be driving a truck…and that truck would be loaded with hay for at least five months out of the year, I would have scoffed. But, drive a truck, I do…and it IS usually loaded with hay, grain, trees, or even inventory for festivals! (smiles)In 2003, I traded in my SUV for my truck because it was difficult trying to keep the inside clean when I was picking up hay!! (smiles) I had to wrap the hay bales in a plastic shower curtain and never roll the windows down in case the wind would cause the loose bits of clover, alfalfa, and orchard grasses to blow around inside the cab! (What a visual!!)

DSCF8308

We had moved to KY from an intercoastal suburb area of Florida. At the beach, I didn’t really know anyone who drove a truck (shock and disbelief, I know!). Most had cars or SUVs. But, after living in KY for a year, and more importantly, on a farm, it was time to make some changes. Without too much coaxing, I was willing to forgo the look of the SUV for a truck. I knew I was being practical. However, within a few days of owning the truck, the kids and I were heading to church in dresses and heels. I remember being horrified that I had to climb up into the truck with a dress! Now, it is second nature…I had even forgotten the incident until now.

DSCF8310.JPG

My brother used to tell me that our vehicle defines us. He had a Dually Ford 350 that he called Sugar Britches and another old/refurbished (practically classic) F150 that he called Ol’ Blue. He loved those trucks. He was proud I had a truck, but would tease that my F150 was just a baby! When my daughters were in the process of buying their first vehicles, he would counsel them to choose their vehicles wisely. Now, while I don’t really believe that my Ford truck defines me, I do love it and have come to depend on it for so many things, especially for the farm and farmwork!

DSCF8312.JPG

A poster that used to hang in my room as a teenager stated: Do Not Follow Where the Path May Lead; Rather, Go Where There Is No Path and Leave a Trail.  For the past two weeks, we have had some pretty tough winter weather. This last week because of the snowfall, I have had to use my 4-wheel drive to and from town! The roads were in rough shape, but in my truck I was able to navigate anywhere and help friends (with cars) get to places they needed to be. It is especially fun to tease with many of the neighbors and farmers in my area about their vehicles—they seem to favor Chevy and Dodge; however, my loyalty will remain forever with Ford!

 

Leave a comment